Acapella  |  Acoustic Research  |  Audiotop  |  B.M.C.  |  Einstein  |  Finite Elemente  |  Hartvig  
HB Cable Design  |  Ikeda  |  Isoclean  |  Lansche  |  Metaxas  |  Millennium  |  Stage III  
Tandem  |  Thales  |  Wilson Benesch  |  Ypsilon  
 
News   |   Buzz   |   Reviews   |   Gallery   |   Pre-Owned   |   Wish List   |   Dealers   |   Contact
 
HomeProduct Reviews Product Reviews
About Aaudio Equipment
Bookmark and Share
 
Sort by Brand
 
or
Sort by Category
  � previous  |  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |   next �
 
Wilson Benesch ~ Resolution Loudspeakers

The Wilson Benesch Resolution is a superb loudspeaker... it delivers a level of musical coherence and insight, a balance of the convincing and the communicative, that puts it at the forefront of current loudspeaker performance.

It is beautifully engineered from high-tech, high-quality materials... Tonal and temporal coherence are its strengths, its holistic, seamless presentation in some ways are more akin to an electrostatic, but a stat with bass and balls.

The Resolutions deliver all of that tonal range and subtlety, held within a broad, deep soundstage, with plenty of dimensionality to instruments and clear air between them... the vanishingly low signature of the cabinets allow the speakers to disappear, passive guardians to the musical event.

- Roy Gregory

Read More �

The Audio Beat 2/14/2018
PowerStar Horizon AC Distributor

OK, the PowerStar Horizon looks incredible. But what about the sound? Given the passive design, it is nothing at all like you would expect.

First, instead of getting soft, the PowerStar Horizon firms up frequency response across the board. This is especially beneficial to the bass range, as tonal balance gets a bit darker and there is more bottom. Everything gains density and weight. Image size inflates to some degree and borders are more defined, without becoming etched.

Secondly, the impact on dynamics is completely counter-intuitive. The sound becomes more energetic, crisp and contrasty. Instruments start to pop and the performance more engaging. The impact here is pretty startling. There is no loss—only gain—with the PowerStar Horizon.

- Marshall Nack

Read More �

Positive Feedback 1/1/2018
Stage III ~ Proteus power cable

The Proteus is an absolutely first-class, state-of-the-art power cord that is extremely dynamic, robust and nuanced.

You definitely need to treat the Proteus as a major component and/or electrical system upgrade, and not just think of it as another power cord tweak.

Very highly recommended.

- Ed Momkus

Read More �

Dagogo 11/17/2017
Thales TTT Compact II & Simplicity II

The TTT Compact II is their latest turntable. It brilliantly solves the well-known issues facing the medium. Technically a belt drive, the drive system has aspects of an idler drive, so you get that direct drive intimacy but with some smoothing provided by the belt.

Thales claim to fame is their tonearm, which aims to marry linear tracking to a pivoted arm. Their latest design is the Simplicity II. Did it give me the thrill? And how! I have never heard such low distortion from a pivoted arm.

With this table/arm combo Thales has realized some very savvy design innovations and put it in a compact, user friendly package that is also beautiful to gaze upon. The TTT Compact II table is very good at its price point. However, the Simplicity II tonearm is beyond that. It is worthy of being mounted on the world's best tables.

- Marshall Nack

Read More �

Positive Feedback 5/24/2017
Metaxas & Sins MARQUIS Headphone Amplifier

Reviewing the Metaxas Marquis was an interesting experience. It’s certainly a design masterpiece, with amazing audio abilities. It’s a very accurate and powerful amplifier. It’s also unusual and eerie, perhaps even a statement piece.

But let’s be honest with ourselves. How many times can we admit that we have been so intrigued by an audio product that we just stare at it in awe?

- Matthew Jens

Read More �

Stereonet 4/12/2017
Hartvig TT turntable

The $14k Hartvig TT belt-drive turntable system’s construction and use of materials, such as a MDF and acrylic-sandwiched plinth, a 2-inch acrylic platter over another 2-inch of aluminum platter are exotic and impressive and serves remarkably as the foundation of a high-end system.

This construction exoticness and total turntable mass makes the Hartvig notable amongst similarly priced, substantial turntable designs although it’s highly economical footprint does make for a polarized appeal. By the same token, its ability to assume a pure, non-intrusive sonic footprint, however, is remarkable for the size.

- Constantine Soo

Read More �

Dagogo 3/23/2017
Stage III Concepts Analord Master

I certainly found a specialized phono cable that performs spectacularly. The Analord Master Phono Cable shares the extroverted characteristics with the rest of the latest cables Stage III Concepts. These new wire products from Stage III perform consistently at the top of the game. It should be obvious they garner a top recommendation.

- Marshall Nack

Read More �

Positive Feedback 11/19/2016
Finite Elemente Cerabase Classic

There was no doubt that from the very first LP that the Cerabase footers made a significant difference in focus. Voices locked in, and individual instruments were more easily heard. This increased focus was quite impressive.

The next thing I noticed was the bass. It had more slam, in fact quite a bit more slam.  The bass was also quite a bit faster. It wasn’t only the bass that was faster, micro-dynamics picked up as well and stood out more than without the footers. The system sounded more detailed, and the imaging was more precise with the Cerabase footers.

- Jack Roberts

Read More �

Dagogo 9/6/2016
Stage III Triton Power Cord
It ain't often I find myself preferring the one-down model of anything. This is that rare occasion. As the saying goes, all things in their place. The Stage III Concepts Kraken and the statement Leviathan power cords are excellent on amplifiers. On my front-end gear, however, I found their effects too much. But the Triton, the third down in the line, fit the bill perfectly. The Triton is a reduced version of the Kraken, both in appearance and performance: it brings proportionally less of all the Stage III bennies. That means it will satisfy both the analytical enthusiast and the music lovers among us. That was just right for my front-end. The addition of a single Triton transformed my sound in startling ways. Singlehandedly, it took the system from very good to outstanding. The Triton is another A+ power product from Stage III and recommended without reservation.

Read More �

Positive Feedback 7/18/2016
Gorgon Interconnect from Stage III Concepts
The cable manufacturer Stage III Concepts is busily revising their product line to incorporate new design developments. First they came out with a pair of power cords, the Kraken and Leviathan, which are outstanding. Last year they introduced the Medusa Speaker Cable, another solid winner. Now it's time for an interconnect. Before shipping me the Gorgon Interconnect, the distributor told me how it shared all the latest design elements of the line and had similar voicing. Frankly, I was skeptical since it seemed too good to be true. I had the same reservations about the Medusa Speaker Cable and it proved me wrong. Now it's the Gorgon's turn. I can state unequivocally, the Medusa and the Gorgon are worthy complements to the Kraken and Leviathan. In fact, the Gorgon may be the best of the lot. These new wires from Stage III Concepts do things I've not heard from other brands. It should be obvious they garner a top recommendation. You need to hear them. - Marshall Nack

Read More �

Positive Feedback 6/1/2016
  � previous  |  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |   next �
� 2008 Aaudio Imports created by dca/dcpr