Acapella  |  Acoustic Research  |  Audiotop  |  B.M.C.  |  Hartvig  |  HB Cable Design  
Ikeda  |  Isoclean  |  Metaxas  |  Millennium  |  Stacore  |  Stage III  
Tandem  |  Thales  |  Wilson Benesch  |  Ypsilon  
 
News   |   Buzz   |   Reviews   |   Gallery   |   Pre-Owned   |   Wish List   |   Dealers   |   Contact
 
Home » Product Reviews Product Reviews
About Aaudio Equipment
Bookmark and Share
 
Sort by Brand
 
or
Sort by Category
  « previous  |  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |   next »
 
Stage III Triton Power Cord
It ain't often I find myself preferring the one-down model of anything. This is that rare occasion. As the saying goes, all things in their place. The Stage III Concepts Kraken and the statement Leviathan power cords are excellent on amplifiers. On my front-end gear, however, I found their effects too much. But the Triton, the third down in the line, fit the bill perfectly. The Triton is a reduced version of the Kraken, both in appearance and performance: it brings proportionally less of all the Stage III bennies. That means it will satisfy both the analytical enthusiast and the music lovers among us. That was just right for my front-end. The addition of a single Triton transformed my sound in startling ways. Singlehandedly, it took the system from very good to outstanding. The Triton is another A+ power product from Stage III and recommended without reservation.

Read More »

Positive Feedback 7/18/2016
Gorgon Interconnect from Stage III Concepts
The cable manufacturer Stage III Concepts is busily revising their product line to incorporate new design developments. First they came out with a pair of power cords, the Kraken and Leviathan, which are outstanding. Last year they introduced the Medusa Speaker Cable, another solid winner. Now it's time for an interconnect. Before shipping me the Gorgon Interconnect, the distributor told me how it shared all the latest design elements of the line and had similar voicing. Frankly, I was skeptical since it seemed too good to be true. I had the same reservations about the Medusa Speaker Cable and it proved me wrong. Now it's the Gorgon's turn. I can state unequivocally, the Medusa and the Gorgon are worthy complements to the Kraken and Leviathan. In fact, the Gorgon may be the best of the lot. These new wires from Stage III Concepts do things I've not heard from other brands. It should be obvious they garner a top recommendation. You need to hear them. - Marshall Nack

Read More »

Positive Feedback 6/1/2016
Medusa Speaker Cable ~ Stage III Concepts

Until now, I've only auditioned Stage III Concepts power cord products. The latest models—the Kraken and the Leviathan—are outstanding, at the top of the game in the category.

The Medusa Speaker Cable is the first signal wire in the revised product line. When the distributor told me it had the same voicing as those power cords, frankly, I was skeptical. First listen proved me wrong. The Medusa is a worthy companion to the Kraken and Leviathan.

Stage III has hit another home run. It should be clear by now that the Medusa Speaker Cable from Stage III gets my top recommendation. (There's more to come. The recently released Gorgon Interconnect is now in house. Spoiler alert: the Gorgon sports nearly the same voicing. Stay tuned.)

Read More »

Positive Feedback 3/1/2016
Ikeda KAI MC Cartridge

The Ikeda Sound Labs KAI is a world-class moving-coil cartridge with very low output and a low compliance. It must be carefully mated with a low-noise, high-output phono preamplifier and a tonearm massive enough to produce a resonant frequency below 13Hz. Those requirements met, the KAI delivered prodigious dynamics, expansive soundstages, electrostatic-like transparency, fast and clean transients, and about as much detail and overall excitement as any cartridge I've heard.

I spent a long time with the Ikeda KAI, and genuinely enjoyed all of it. It correctly performed all of a cartridge's housekeeping chores-excellent tracking, super quiet groove tracing, a complete absence of mechanical artifacts-and its low residual coloration and fleet-footed overall sound made for many evenings of satisfying, exhilarating listening.

- Michael Fremer

Read More »

Stereophile 6/1/2015
Stage III Leviathan Power Cord

Stage III Concepts has done it again. The critical acclaim and consumer acceptance of the Kraken model provided the needed incentive to venture forth where few wire manufacturers dare to tread. The result is a product that multiplies the performance of the Kraken. You have to experience it for yourself. Try to arrange an audition to see what this level of cable engineering can do.

- Marshall Nack

Read More »

Positive Feedback 4/9/2015
BMC PureVOX Speakers

The PureVOX is another fine effort in cost-no-object design in a cost-conscious component. It effectively straddles the performance-to-cost barrier pulling down sound quality associated with larger, more costly monitors and small to medium floor standers, while not soaring in price. It’s use when set up traditionally is worthy of comparison to the finest smaller monitors available.

- Doug Schroeder

Read More »

Dagogo 11/21/2014
B.M.C. PureDAC and PureUSB1

Consider that I have not yet tapped out the full extent of the PureDAC, as I have a PureAMP and PureVOX speakers yet to assess. When all is said and done, the PureLine might assert itself as one of the finest affordable digital audiophile sources available at this time.

- Doug Schroeder

Read More »

Dagogo 9/17/2014
Ypsilon Aelius Amplifiers

Whether the Aelius was paired with the matching PST 100 or my Trinity Preamp, the verdict was the same. These products are communication specialists. Everybody enjoyed them.

I was very tempted to hold on to them and make them my new reference. That would have been a radical jump from my Soulution 710 Stereo Amp. Yes, they're that good.

- Marshall Nack

Read More »

Positive Feedback 9/1/2014
Ypsilon PST100 MKII Preamplifier

Looking for a rich, full, resonant sound, as opposed to a focused, analytic one? Look no further. "Man, what a natural, refined sound!" was the panel's enthusiastic verdict on the Ypsilon PST100 MkII Preamp.

Here's the scoop: For those who are looking for a little bit of creature friendliness served up along with excellent grades on the audio scorecard, you'd be hard pressed to find better than the PST100 MkII at any price.

- Marshall Nack

Read More »

Positive Feedback 7/1/2014
B.M.C. Audio amazes with PureDAC

The B.M.C. PureDAC leverages some unique architecture to arrive at killer performance for a not-very-stratospheric price.

It has plenty of strong competition in the $2k and under category, but distinguishes itself with spectacular build quality, plenty of functionality, and — most importantly — very good sound.

The chief accomplishment here is tonal accuracy which is virtually unmatched in my experience.

I have to give major credit to Carlos Candeias and B.M.C. for pulling this off — well done!

- John Grandberg

Read More »

Confessions of a Part-Time Audiophile 4/4/2014
  « previous  |  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |   next »
© 2008 Aaudio Imports created by dca/dcpr