Acapella  |  Acoustic Research  |  Audiotop  |  B.M.C.  |  Hartvig  |  HB Cable Design  
Ikeda  |  Isoclean  |  Metaxas  |  Millennium  |  Stacore  |  Stage III  
Tandem  |  Thales  |  Wilson Benesch  |  Ypsilon  
 
News   |   Buzz   |   Reviews   |   Gallery   |   Pre-Owned   |   Wish List   |   Dealers   |   Contact
 
Home » Product Reviews Product Reviews
About Aaudio Equipment
Bookmark and Share
 
Sort by Brand
 
or
Sort by Category
  « previous  |  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |   next »
 
Medusa Speaker Cable ~ Stage III Concepts

Until now, I've only auditioned Stage III Concepts power cord products. The latest models—the Kraken and the Leviathan—are outstanding, at the top of the game in the category.

The Medusa Speaker Cable is the first signal wire in the revised product line. When the distributor told me it had the same voicing as those power cords, frankly, I was skeptical. First listen proved me wrong. The Medusa is a worthy companion to the Kraken and Leviathan.

Stage III has hit another home run. It should be clear by now that the Medusa Speaker Cable from Stage III gets my top recommendation. (There's more to come. The recently released Gorgon Interconnect is now in house. Spoiler alert: the Gorgon sports nearly the same voicing. Stay tuned.)

Read More »

Positive Feedback 3/1/2016
Ikeda KAI MC Cartridge

The Ikeda Sound Labs KAI is a world-class moving-coil cartridge with very low output and a low compliance. It must be carefully mated with a low-noise, high-output phono preamplifier and a tonearm massive enough to produce a resonant frequency below 13Hz. Those requirements met, the KAI delivered prodigious dynamics, expansive soundstages, electrostatic-like transparency, fast and clean transients, and about as much detail and overall excitement as any cartridge I've heard.

I spent a long time with the Ikeda KAI, and genuinely enjoyed all of it. It correctly performed all of a cartridge's housekeeping chores-excellent tracking, super quiet groove tracing, a complete absence of mechanical artifacts-and its low residual coloration and fleet-footed overall sound made for many evenings of satisfying, exhilarating listening.

- Michael Fremer

Read More »

Stereophile 6/1/2015
Stage III Leviathan Power Cord

Stage III Concepts has done it again. The critical acclaim and consumer acceptance of the Kraken model provided the needed incentive to venture forth where few wire manufacturers dare to tread. The result is a product that multiplies the performance of the Kraken. You have to experience it for yourself. Try to arrange an audition to see what this level of cable engineering can do.

- Marshall Nack

Read More »

Positive Feedback 4/9/2015
BMC PureVOX Speakers

The PureVOX is another fine effort in cost-no-object design in a cost-conscious component. It effectively straddles the performance-to-cost barrier pulling down sound quality associated with larger, more costly monitors and small to medium floor standers, while not soaring in price. It’s use when set up traditionally is worthy of comparison to the finest smaller monitors available.

- Doug Schroeder

Read More »

Dagogo 11/21/2014
B.M.C. PureDAC and PureUSB1

Consider that I have not yet tapped out the full extent of the PureDAC, as I have a PureAMP and PureVOX speakers yet to assess. When all is said and done, the PureLine might assert itself as one of the finest affordable digital audiophile sources available at this time.

- Doug Schroeder

Read More »

Dagogo 9/17/2014
Ypsilon Aelius Amplifiers

Whether the Aelius was paired with the matching PST 100 or my Trinity Preamp, the verdict was the same. These products are communication specialists. Everybody enjoyed them.

I was very tempted to hold on to them and make them my new reference. That would have been a radical jump from my Soulution 710 Stereo Amp. Yes, they're that good.

- Marshall Nack

Read More »

Positive Feedback 9/1/2014
Ypsilon PST100 MKII Preamplifier

Looking for a rich, full, resonant sound, as opposed to a focused, analytic one? Look no further. "Man, what a natural, refined sound!" was the panel's enthusiastic verdict on the Ypsilon PST100 MkII Preamp.

Here's the scoop: For those who are looking for a little bit of creature friendliness served up along with excellent grades on the audio scorecard, you'd be hard pressed to find better than the PST100 MkII at any price.

- Marshall Nack

Read More »

Positive Feedback 7/1/2014
B.M.C. Audio amazes with PureDAC

The B.M.C. PureDAC leverages some unique architecture to arrive at killer performance for a not-very-stratospheric price.

It has plenty of strong competition in the $2k and under category, but distinguishes itself with spectacular build quality, plenty of functionality, and — most importantly — very good sound.

The chief accomplishment here is tonal accuracy which is virtually unmatched in my experience.

I have to give major credit to Carlos Candeias and B.M.C. for pulling this off — well done!

- John Grandberg

Read More »

Confessions of a Part-Time Audiophile 4/4/2014
PowerSlave Marble Power Distributor

When you are building a house, you have to start with a solid foundation. The HB Cable Design PowerSlave Marble Distributor lays down the most solid foundation I've encountered.

The Marble heightens the audiophile experience in many ways. At the same time, you do not lose any part of the music—it does it all. This is a product with no caveats to report!

If I had an unlimited budget, I'd sooner purchase the HB Marble than any power distributor or conditioner on the market.

- Marshall Nack

Read More »

Positive Feedback 3/29/2014
B.M.C. PureDAC

The design, execution, fit and finish, are indicative of a component costing much more than the $1,790 retail asking price.   When you include the quality of refined sound that this unit produces, it adds up to great value in true high end audio systems.

What the PureDAC does so well is to bring out the intention of the performer, so the result is you are enjoying the musical message instead of listening to your equipment.  For anyone looking for a DAC, or a DAC/preamp/headphone combination with the qualities and price I described, I recommend auditioning the PureDAC.


- Paul Mah

Read More »

Dagogo 2/26/2014
  « previous  |  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |   next »
© 2008 Aaudio Imports created by dca/dcpr