Acapella  |  Acoustic Research  |  Audiotop  |  B.M.C.  |  Hartvig  |  HB Cable Design  
Ikeda  |  Isoclean  |  Metaxas  |  Millennium  |  Stacore  |  Stage III  
Tandem  |  Thales  |  Wilson Benesch  |  Ypsilon  
 
News   |   Buzz   |   Reviews   |   Gallery   |   Pre-Owned   |   Wish List   |   Dealers   |   Contact
 
Home » Product Reviews Product Reviews
About Aaudio Equipment
Bookmark and Share
 
Sort by Brand
 
or
Sort by Category
  « previous  |  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |   next »
 
HB Cable Design PowerSlave Acrylic

First, there is the increase in scale. My system sounded bigger and more powerful with the Acrylic compared to the Horizon. Second, there was a solidity and sense of space to the sound with the Acrylic in the system that I had not heard before. Third, the system’s ability to play loud and not break up was expanded; my amp sounded like it had more power. Fourth, my system had even better timbre and tonal accuracy with the Acrylic distributing the power to it. Last, because of the first four points, my system sounded more alive with the Acrylic.

Read More »

Dagogo 4/17/2013
Ypsilon Aelius monoblock power amplifier

The Aelius's top-to-bottom rhythmic agility may be in a class of its own. Its bottom end was nimble, clean, and well extended, and did the best job of controlling the woofers of the Wilson Alexandria XLFs of any amplifier that's been here since those speakers arrived.

The Aelius is yet another spectacular sonic and technological achievement from Ypsilon Electronics. I remain impressed by everything they do.

- Michael Fremer

Read More »

Stereophile 4/1/2013
PowerStar Horizon: High End Power Dist.

I’ve tried so many power conditioners that I won’t try to list all of them. In the end, I am a firm believer in the KISS (Keep It Simple Stupid) principle when it comes to audio design. Just look at my system, it only has three power cords, and one pair of interconnects plus the tonearm cable. The HB Designs PowerStar Horizon fits right into that principle. I can’t wait to get the Acrylic and the Marble in for a listen. 

Well done, Brian for bringing to the U.S. another great sounding product that most of us had never heard of.

Read More »

Dagogo 1/25/2013
Stage III: Magnus Prime Interconnects

It’s hard to describe interconnect that doesn’t have much sonic character. It’s not warm, not cold, not dark or bright... basically, it’s just right, meaning it really isn’t there at all. And the benefit of this lack of character is that whatever is on the tape, that’s what you’re going to hear. 

The Magnus Prime lets you spend much more time listening to the music,
rather than to the system. You’ll hear all that there is to hear, to a farethewell.

Read More »

Nicholas Bedworth 7/9/2012
Stage III: Magnus Prime Speaker Cables

The Magnus Prime speaker cables are certainly worth a long listen,
You may well end up deciding you can’t part with them.

To me, they’re well-balanced, highly detailed, dynamic and accurate, while also sounding natural, compelling, intriguing and effortless.

Read More »

Nicholas Bedworth 7/8/2012
B.M.C. Audio Amplifier C1

For the Amplifier C1's relatively affordable price of $7990, B.M.C. Audio delivers high tech, high style, and high power, as well as the flexibility afforded by five inputs. It's a fun product to look at, to use, and to listen to.

Whether you call it an integrated amplifier or "a power amplifier with variable amplification and input choice," its generous power and black backgrounds made it sound more like a pair of monoblocks. Few integrated amplifiers of my experience, particularly at this price, have produced the Amp C1's level of muscular, woofer-gripping bass and overall sonic ease. Music didn't drip from the speakers, as it so often does from integrateds—it erupted.

Read More »

Stereophile 5/3/2012
Ypsilon Electronics Aelius Mono Amplifiers

...within a broad level of performance, the Aelius competes with any amp I've heard -- and I suspect any amp made today.

Read More »

The Audio Beat 3/11/2012
Ypsilon VPS 100 Phono Stage

"Man, what a natural, refined sound!" was my first enthusiastic response to the VPS 100. The differences lay in the quantity and quality of low-level information. The convincing little events are there, but equally important as this abundance of micro-level stuff is their terrific timbral and dynamic fidelity.

The VPS 100 conjoins excellent performance on the objectivist criteria with the unique qualities only step-up designs bring. The difference is this is the first step-up design that doesn't exhibit the step-up weaknesses.

As a total package, the Ypsilon VPS 100 Phono Stage offers the finest, most satisfying, analog playback I've heard to date. Marshall Nack

Read More »

Positive Feedback 10/11/2011
Ypsilon VPS 100 Phono Stage & MC16

The Ypsilon VPS-100 is far superior to any other phonostage, tube or solid-state, which I have auditioned by a rather significant margin.

The VPS-100 has punch, definition and subterranian extension in the bottom octaves combined with transparency, speed and limitless extension at the top while never slighting the midrange.

I hope that my enthusiasm comes through. In the end, I bought the review sample.

Read More »

Dagogo 9/12/2011
Ypsilon PST-100 MkII line preamplifier

At $37,000, the PST-100 Mk.II is very expensive; but given how it's made and how it sounds, and assuming you can afford it, it's well worth the money. For now, the Ypsilon PST-100 MkII is the most transparent and, therefore, the most perfect audio component I have ever heard—or not heard. Michael Fremer

Read More »

Stereophile 7/22/2011
  « previous  |  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |   next »
© 2008 Aaudio Imports created by dca/dcpr